The Provence Cure for the Broken Hearted by Bridget Asher

Heidi keeps losing things: her keys, sunglasses, checkbooks, and a note to her son’s third grade teacher explaining how she’d lost his homework.  After the death of her husband in a car accident Heidi is lost herself.  At her sister’s wedding she learns her mother’s ancestral home in France has been damaged in a fire.  She is coerced into traveling there to make repairs and she takes with her Abbot, her seven year old son with OCD, and Charlotte, her angry sixteen year old step-niece.   Throughout her childhood, Heidi has heard stories of the magical properties of the house.  Now it is her turn to see if the house will help her find that beautiful person to make her whole again: herself.

Traveling to France was not in my budget this year and I was hoping for an engaging read that would transport me to the exotic country of wine and gentle breezes.   Through Bridget Asher’s rich imagery, I could feel the sun on my face and smell chicken simmering red wine on the air.  A patron recommended the book to me and I have to say it was an enjoyable read that left me satisfied, as if I had shared a delightful afternoon with old friends.

Find and request this book in our catalog.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

