Chasing Fireflies by Charles Martin

When I was a kid I loved catching fireflies.  My love for these denizens of the night has continued into adulthood, even though I don’t catch them so much anymore.  When I saw the title of this book, I had to check it out despite the fact that I knew nothing about the book or the author.  It was a great surprise to me that I liked it so much.  I have read few books that strike an emotional chord with me like this one does.  I venture to guess this will be my favorite book of the year.

Martin’s story revolves around a young boy found wandering alone after having been in a terrible wreck.  He has no identification and no one knows who he is.  He is mute and communicates only by writing and drawing.  His artistic ability borders on genius.  He says his name is “Snoot”. His body bears the scars of terrible physical abuse.  Chase Walker is the reporter assigned to write a story about the boy.

Chase relates to the boy as only another orphan can and the two soon forge a strong bond.  In Chase’s search to uncover Snoot’s identity, he discovers his own true past and the answers to the questions every orphan has about their origins.  This story has it all – mystery, reconciliation, and the amazing power of love.  Read it if you are in the mood for a tearjerker that will also make you laugh a lot.

Find and reserve a copy in our catalog.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

