I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

I like Sophie Kinsella as a rule, but this may be my favorite, at least the best I’ve read in a while. Kinsella, a British writer named Madeline Wickham who is best known for her “Shopaholic” series, was in high form, making me laugh, cry, and hope all at the same time.

Poppy is a typical Kinsella heroine: funny, scattered, and not terribly bright. Having lost her cell phone, she finds herself in possession of a new one that someone tossed in the rubbish and quickly applauds herself for coming up with such a quick solution to her problem. Since she also managed to lose her engagement ring, this is good news indeed. Before long, she finds herself getting to know the employer of the phone’s former owner quite well; so well, in fact, that she begins using his company’s phone to take care of his phone, email, and text correspondence herself. Which is, of course, where everything goes wrong.

I enjoyed this on the level of just wanting a light read, and it would be easy to stop at that point. What surprised me was the depth of the relationship between Poppy and Sam. It wasn’t the superficial romance you might expect, but rather  a realistic relationship that developed over time. I especially liked that Poppy and Sam got to know each other in great part via texts, emails, and phone calls, where (just like in real life) they could often speak more honestly than they could if they were in person. It didn’t happen suddenly or based on just a few interactions, as is often the case in this kind of novel.

I already miss visiting with them a little each day.

Find and reserve this book in our catalog.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella”

  1. butcept Says:

    This made me LOL a lot too. Loved it. Recommended to me by a friend, who we both then recommended to another friend. This went viral in my little circle.

Leave a Reply

