Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

I’m one of those people that prefers to read a book before I see the film version. There’s just something about having a point of reference that is appealing to me. And, in the case of Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl’s Beautiful Creatures, I am very glad I read the book first. After reading and then watching the movie back-to-back, I would have been lost throughout the movie if I had not already read the book.

Ethan Wate lives in Gatlin, a small town in the South where nothing happens and barely anyone new ever moves there. That is, until Lena Duchannes, the niece of the mysterious Macon Ravenwood, arrives in town. Ethan begins experiencing all sorts of strange occurrences after meeting her, from nightmares he seems to share with Lena to a locket that shows them memories from the past.

The mystery continues to grow as Lena counts down to her sixteenth birthday. It is the day that she, as a Caster, becomes either light or dark. Despite attempts by both Ethan and Lena’s families to keep them apart, the mystery ties them further together.

Although there were a few moments when the story dragged, for the most part I couldn’t put the book down because I wanted to know what happened next. And now, after the ending, I can’t wait to read the next one! I’m curious as to how the series is going to end.

So if you’re like me and like to read both the book and watch the film adaptation, then I definitely suggest reading the book first! You might even find that it was better than the film altogether.

Visit the Beautiful Creatures web site.

Find and reserve this book in our catalog.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl”

  1. bookgossips Says:

    Great review! Agree with everything you said. Feel free to check out my review on Beautiful Creatures http://bookgossips.wordpress.com/reviews/

Leave a Reply

