Posts Tagged ‘Europe’

Best New Books of 2014: Janet L’s Picks

December 8, 2014

Winter is coming, with its cold days and long nights.  In other words, perfect reading weather.  It’s also the traditional time to look back and choose favorite reads of the past year.  If you are a fan of humor, mystery, travel, or food (not to mention good writing) I can highly recommend the following five books:

A Man Called OveA Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman
Neighborhood curmudgeon Ove is not amused when a lively young family moves in next door.  Imagine everyone’s surprise, especially Ove’s, when instead of the expected disaster, something wonderful results.  Fredrik Backman’s debut is an amazing mixture of comedy, pathos and social commentary.  Will appeal to almost everyone, especially fans of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce and The No. 1 Ladies Detective series by Alexander McCall Smith.

The Bone OrchardThe Bone Orchard by Paul Doiron
Life would be much easier for Mike Bowditch if he could just keep his mouth shut, but then reading about him wouldn’t be so much fun.  No longer a game warden for the state of Maine, Mike finds himself drawn into a case when good friend and former mentor, Kathy Frost, is gunned down and critically injured.  One of my favorite mystery series; if you haven’t had the pleasure, begin with The Poacher’s Son.  Especially recommended for readers of the Alex McKnight series by Steve Hamilton, the Conway Sax series by Steve Ulfelder and the Anna Pigeon series by Nevada Barr.

Smoke Gets in Your EyesSmoke Gets In Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory by Caitlin Doughty
Caitlin Doughty, founder of The Order of the Good Death, is a Los Angeles mortician.  She wrote this book to give people a behind the scenes look at funeral home. Death is a somber and scary subject, but Doughty handles it with humor and compassion. If she hoped this book would demystify death and make it more comfortable to contemplate, she succeeded with this reader.  Recommended for fans of Mary Roach and Sarah Vowell.

The Age of LicenseThe Age of License: A Travelogue by Lucy Knisley
Graphic artist Knisley shares the ups and downs of her book tour to Europe and Scandinavia.   Honest, charming, yet serious, this graphic novel will appeal to fans of travelogues and mouthwatering descriptions of food—and isn’t that almost everyone?

The Black HourThe Black Hour by Lori Rader-Day
Sociology professor Amelia Emmet has made violence the focus of her academic research.  When a student she has never seen before appears outside her office and shoots her, theory becomes all too horribly real.  Back on campus, Amelia attempts to resume her life.  Relying on painkillers, a cane, and her sardonic sense of humor, Amelia struggles to find the answer to the questions that haunts her:  Why?

Advertisements

Good as Gone by Douglas Corleone

November 8, 2013

goodasgoneLooking for an edge-of-your-seat thriller that grabs you and doesn’t let go? Read Good as Gone. Simon, a former United States Marshall, is abducted by the French National Police who desperately need his help. They are looking for Lindsay, a 6 year old American girl snatched from her hotel room. Simon normally rescues kidnapped children, but only from non-custodial parents who abduct their kids. This kidnapping is something else entirely and Simon’s not sure it’s his kind of case. Reluctantly, he agrees to investigate, if only to ease the minds of the frantic parents. Simon understands what these parents are going through: his own child was kidnapped by persons unknown, and that single event destroyed his family. Simon’s daughter Haley would be sixteen by now, and he has not lost hope that he might find her, although as a former law enforcement officer, he knows the odds are not in his favor. He tries not to let Haley’s fate color his present-day investigations, but this case in particular stirs up old memories.

In his quest to find Lindsay, Simon journeys through Eastern Europe, including the darkest realms of pornography and prostitution. But Lindsay isn’t where the majority of runaways end up. This is looking to be a different type of kidnapping. Where is she? For what purpose was she kidnapped?

Find and reserve this book in our catalog.


%d bloggers like this: